Eagles Logan Ferguson and Head Coach Andrew Milne Named Finalists in AJHL Awards

CANMORE, AB (February 17, 2017) – Canmore Eagles forward Logan Ferguson (Calgary, AB) and Head Coach Andrew Milne have been nominated for 2016-17 Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) awards.

Ferguson, 19, has been nominated for the Don McNabb Memorial Trophy as the league’s Most Dedicated Player. Currently sitting one point behind teammate Matt Forchuk, Ferguson is in 2nd place overall for league leaders with 27 goals, and 51 assists for a total of 78 points. Ferguson earned his “C” this year through his commitment to the team and leadership on and off the ice. This is Ferguson's 3rd and final season with the Canmore Eagles as he has committed to Holy Cross for the 2017-2018 season.

Also nominated for the award:

  • Ben Assad – Calgary Canucks
  • Ryan Symington – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Morgan Messenger – Whitecourt Wolverines






Head Coach Andrew Milne joined the team in 2009 and this year has lead the organization to a 30-17-6 record with 7 games still remaining. This is his 3rd time being nominated for Coach of the Year. Milne was also nominated for the 2009-2010, and 2013-2014 seasons. 

Also nominated for the award:

  • James Poole – Calgary Canucks
  • Tom Keca – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • Gord Thibodeau – Whitecourt Wolverines

The Canmore Eagles organization would like to congratulate Logan and Andrew for their nominations and wish them the best of luck for when the League Awards winners are announced. 

The Alberta Junior Hockey League’s General Managers and Coaches have selected finalists from each division through the first two phases of voting.  The award winners for each of the categories listed below will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced during the last week of the 2016-2017 AJHL Regular Season.

For a full list of nominations and awards: