PHOTO: Rookie netminder Ryan Ferguson is a finalist for this year's AJHL's “Rookie of the Year” and “Top Goaltender” awards. (Julie Wilson photo)

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with The RBC Play Hockey Project, has announced the finalists for the 2014 AJHL League Awards.   Two finalists from each division were selected by the league’s General Managers and Coaches through the first phase of voting.
The award winners for each of the categories listed below will be determined through a final vote by the AJHL General Managers and Coaches then announced during the final week of the 2013-2014 AJHL Regular Season.
The Canmore Eagles are well represented as they have a player nominated in five of the six award categories. Eagle defenceman Trey Phillips is a candidate for both the AJHL’s Most Valuable Player and Outstanding Defenceman, goaltender Ryan Ferguson is nominated for Rookie of the Year and Top Goaltender, and Andrew Milne is in contention for Coach of the Year.

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy
•     Tanner Jaillet  – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
•     Nicholas Jones – Sherwood Park Crusaders
•     Spencer Dorowicz – Olds Grizzlys
•     Trey Phillips – Canmore Eagles
2013 Winner – Cam Maclise, Brooks Bandits

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by the Alberta Dodge Dealers
•     Grant Baker – Lloydminster Bobcats
•     Corey Chorneyko – Spruce Grove Saints
•     Tariq Hammond – Okotoks Oilers
•     Trey Phillips – Canmore Eagles
2013 Winner – Josh Healey, Sherwood Park Crusaders

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy, Presented by Canalta Hotels
•     Mitch Vanderlaan – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
•     Tyler Busch – Spruce Grove Saints
•     Ryan Ferguson – Canmore Eagles
•     Chris Gerrie – Olds Grizzlys
2013 Winner – Tanner MacMaster, Camrose Kodiaks

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy
•     Tanner Jaillet  – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
•     Kenny Cameron – Spruce Grove Saints
•     Ryan Ferguson – Canmore Eagles
•     Jared D'Amico – Okotoks Oilers
2013 Winner – Nick Kulmanovsky, Grande Prairie Storm

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy
•     Austin McDonald – Lloydminster Bobcats
•     Joel Herbert – Whitecourt Wolverines
•     Anthony Paskaruk – Brooks Bandits
•     Cam Gotaas – Camrose Kodiaks
2013 Winner – Dylan Hubbs, Olds Grizzlys

Coach of the Year
•     Garry VanHereweghe – Lloydminster Bobcats
•     Jason McKee – Spruce Grove Saints
•     Andrew Milne – Canmore Eagles
•     Brian Curran – Drumheller Dragons
2013 Winner – Ryan Papaioannou, Brooks Bandits

The following League Awards will also be presented at the conclusion of the 2013-2014 AJHL Regular Season.
•     Regular Season Champion – Dave Duchak Trophy
•     Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
•     Top Team Goaltenders – Reebok / CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
•     Stewy Stewart Memorial – Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
•     Pro Hockey Life Cup

RBC is committed to helping hockey happen in communities across North America. As a premier partner of Hockey Canada and USA Hockey, RBC is the official sponsor of each country's Men's and Women's National and Olympic hockey teams, the World Junior Championship, Canada's national Junior A Championship – the RBC Cup, and the Hockey Hall of Fame and will support the development of hockey at all levels. 
RBC Play Hockey Grants will help grassroots hockey in your community to get started, get better and go further. To apply, visit www.rbcplayhockey.com.